Cut Fruit and Fried Shrimp with Onion Rings

I love fried food and shrimp is one of my favorite things to fry at home. The fruit salad got some softening and flavor development from the maceration and freezing, but other than that it is all pretty straight-forward.

image

I did a round of thinly-sliced fingerling potatoes, that I’d softened in the microwave with a splash of milk for 3o seconds. I pulled them a touch early from the frying liquid so they were pretty but not as crisp as i might have liked.

The onions enjoyed a short bath in milk, then a healthy dredge in flour, egg beat with whole milk and then breaded with seasoned breadcrumbs. I used a wok as J.Kenji Lopez Alt suggests and I’ve been happy with the results vs. other pans which were harder to clean up and not as easy to sift and stir as the wide style of wok.

The fruits were all sliced and tossed in a squeeze of lemon juice and dash of white sugar. I let them sit on the counter and tossed again, then set in the freezer for about 30 minutes. I went to all this trouble because the mango wasn’t as ripe as it had advertised itself to be and I figured that the softening combined with the sweetening, plus the cell-bursting of the freezing would result in a sweeter-softer mango. I was correct and the sweet, light fruit cut through all that fatty crunchy fried stuff.

 

 

Leave a Reply

