Pulled pork in a pastry crust with savory gravy – green beans – fruit salad

Pork tenderloin is hard to screw up – it is also for whatever reason on sale frequently at the Smart and Final around the corner from my spot, so I cook it with some frequency. As such, I like to find new ways of preparing it so I don’t get bored.

This time around I braised it for a few hours in chunks, in a brine made of:

  • tomato paste
  • soy sauce
  • better than bouillon veggie paste
  • EV olive oil
  • aged balsamic vinegar
  • maple syrup
  • hot water

all of which I whisked and added to the top of the meat. It is better to cook it slow, but I started high and then went slow to finish.

The pastry crust is right out of Michel Roux’s book – it was the first time I’d made a pastry of any kind and it turned out OK. Next time I will definitely push that rolling pin harder, a thinner crust would have been a touch better.

The gravy was just a roux I whisked and added the stock from the pork dish. I ended up with a good deal leftover, both meat and drippings, so a gravy and sandwiches are in my future.

The green beans I steamed, covered in gravy and some queso fresco. I took pictures but they didn’t turn out, so use your imagination.

I made the fruit salad first, but it went uneaten and un-photographed, so maybe I’ll post it another day. Pear, plum, blueberry, raspberry, lime juice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

