Triple. Grilled. Cheese.

Certain things are sacrosanct and should not be taken lightly. My love affair with grilled cheese is one such matter. I believe I have perfected an art and I am willing to share my findings with you. Sure, anyone can grill a cheese, but adding these couple steps really makes it pop – especially if you are dunking in soup. Gimme that umami zing!

Needed:

  • Two pieces of bread
  • plenty of cheese of choice for filling (I used provolone today)
  • Solid chunk of Parmesan (or at least fresh grated)
  • Garlic Salt
  • Non-stick pan (probably won’t work with stainless)
  • Microplane or similar fine grater

Grill a cheese like normal, lotta butter, medium heat. I like to use thickly cut, artisan white bread. I listen to know when to flip, you want it crunchy enough to audibly scratch across that non-stick surface, good and grilled, medium light brown.

When you flip sprinkle with garlic salt and then freshly grated Parmesan – give it a good, solid layer. When you can hear the other side is done HOLD IT ON A SPATULA AND FLIP THE PAN! This way you don’t lose any of the cheese you just grated 🙂 Flip it over and repeat for the other side. The parm only needs a few seconds to form the crusty layer, and it should only need a slight nudging to dislodge it from the pan.

Remove from pan and slice in half or quarters and then GRILL THE EXPOSED SIDES using the bits of leftover butter, cheese crumbs and spilled garlic salt. If you really wanna do it fancy let some of the oozing cheese crisp a touch and dip that side into Parmesan, giving it yet another crispy crust. I have done this fourth-grill of the cheese, and it is good, but kinda wasted on soup so I just stick to the triple.

Sorry for yelling, but I wanted to emphasize the couple minor updates to the typical techniques. K – smooches!

Leave a comment